[Samba] Samba rewrite file's owner
mgnoble at cox.net
Tue Jul 29 01:31:55 GMT 2003
This is due to the way microsoft works (at least office). When a
file is edited, Microsoft creates a temp file for the edit session
and locks the original. When you write the file, the original is
deleted and the temp file is renamed to the original file.
Since the temp file is owned by the new user, after write the new
file is owned by the user who edited the file.
On Monday 28 July 2003 05:58 am, Samuele Brignoli wrote:
> I've tried to share a file with two users logged in a samba PDC. Their
> username are user1 and user2. If I create a file with user1 and then change
> it with user2, the final owner's user of the file is user2. Isn't it a
> strange behaviour ?
> Thanks in advance, SB.
More information about the samba