delete-delay vs. delete-after in 3.0.2 (and possible bug)
soltys at ziu.info
Tue Jun 10 14:41:42 GMT 2008
I've noticed today, that --delete-delay introduced in 3.0.2 is not
functionally equivalent of --delete-after (I was under impression it
should work this way).
Looking at following example:
.rf consists of following lines:
rsync -aHx --delete-after --filter="dir-merge, .rf" /src/ /dst/
...will execute properly - which means that already existing testfile in
/dst will not be removed.
But if I execute:
rsync -aHx --delete-delay --filter="dir-merge, .rf" /src/ /dst/
...testfile will be removed, unless .rf (with above rules) already
exists on the receiving side.
Is this how it should be ? I was under impression, that --delete-delay
gave functionality of --delete-after, when the chosen algorithm was that
More information about the rsync