> The other thing you can try is setting "acl check permissions = no" > on that share (or globally). This will stop Samba checking at > open time if the file can be deleted. That made a difference - if that option is set then I can delete the file. What is strange though is that a directory with the same permissions can always be deleted. Cheers, Adam.