LM Compatibility Level

John Ackart john.ackart at gmail.com
Wed May 21 17:25:21 GMT 2008

A quote from this article:

suggests that you can set LM compatibility level to 4 just for the IAS 
server. Specifically, the article says:

"Servers running IAS (or RADIUS) and Routing and Remote Access use 
NTLMv1 to authenticate their clients' domain credentials. This means 
domain controllers that need to authenticate those clients cannot be 
configured to accept only NTLMv2 authentication. However, starting with 
Windows Server 2003 SP1, it is possible for a domain controller to 
accept NTLMv1 from servers running IAS and remote access service but 
NTLMv2-only for all other authentication requests."

Does anyone know the mechanism used to achieve this.



More information about the samba-technical mailing list