How to find Server Validation Level

P Ranjit Kumar ranjit at
Sat Dec 23 20:01:08 GMT 2000


Thanks for the response.

Thats what I was thinking and also implemented. First I send level 3, then
if the server returns failure, I send level 2.

I will submit my enhancement to Samba team soon.


-----Original Message-----
From: gcarter at [mailto:gcarter at]On
Behalf Of Gerald Carter
Sent: Friday, December 22, 2000 1:53 AM
To: P Ranjit Kumar
Cc: sharpe at; samba-technical at
Subject: Re: How to find Server Validation Level

P Ranjit Kumar wrote:
> What I am talking about is Validation Level thats
> set when Samba sends a RPC Netlogon validation request.
> For example this is hard coded to 3 in file
> rpc_client/rpc_netlogon.c , function cli_net_sam_logon().
> It is passed to the server over NETLOGON Pipe using
> the structure net_q_sam_logon_info (from
> include/rpc_netlogon.h).

Check the MSDN docs, but IIRC this is actually the level used
to indicate the structure type used (in our case here

> I think validation level indicates what level of
> user info does the server support.

You choose which one to issue and check for error codes
in the server response.  This is not something like
the capabilities bits which let you know for example
whether the server supports MS-DFS.

Cheers, jerry
   /\  Gerald (Jerry) Carter                     Professional Services
 \/  VA Linux Systems   gcarter at       SAMBA Team          jerry at                     jerry at

       "...a hundred billion castaways looking for a home."
                                - Sting "Message in a Bottle" ( 1979 )

More information about the samba-technical mailing list