[clug] Verifying SPAM or Google Recruiting

Steve Jenkin sjenkin at canb.auug.org.au
Tue Apr 27 17:26:42 MDT 2010

On Wed, Apr 28, 2010 at 08:19:07AM +1000, Mike Carden wrote:
> There's a linkedin profile for someone of that name claiming to work
> for Google HR:
Well, there would be, wouldn't there :-)                                                                 
Seriously, phising and hackers/fraudsters do get very specific and go                                    
to great lengths.                                                                                        
Or the guy is a genuine HR at GOOG, but his gmail acct. has been hacked.                                    
[Think of why The GOOG left China].                                                                      
Paranoid or Cautious?                                                                                    
Who are The GOOG trying to recruit?                                                                      
People who are careful, disciplined professionals who take the trouble                                   
to 'verify sources', or something else??                                                                 
If this were a someone/some company I knew, I'd have no suspicions.                                      
If they'd used GPG to sign the message and I could download the key from                                 
subkeys.google.com, I'd not bother you guys...                                                           
But seriously, The GOOG hitting on me with random SPAM and                                               
a word-doc attachment? What are the chances?                                                             
[didn't mention that before]                                                                             

> http://in.linkedin.com/in/soumitamandal1
> -- 
> MC
> -- 
> linux mailing list
> linux at lists.samba.org
> https://lists.samba.org/mailman/listinfo/linux

Steve Jenkin, Info Tech, Systems and Design Specialist.
0412 786 915 (+61 412 786 915)
PO Box 48, Kippax ACT 2615, AUSTRALIA

sjenkin at canb.auug.org.au http://www.canb.auug.org.au/~sjenkin

More information about the linux mailing list