[clug] lists.samba.org as spam source

Karun Dambiec kdambiec at ieee.org
Tue Mar 10 08:56:44 GMT 2009

Hash: SHA1

Dale Shaw wrote:
> Hi Jeff,
> On Tue, Mar 10, 2009 at 2:54 PM, jm <jeffm at ghostgun.com> wrote:
>> Barracuda Networks has lists.samba.org down having a poor reputation
>> implying it sees it as a spam source.
>> The ip address is listed as "poor" on the Barracuda
>> System
> What's the link between that IP and lists.samba.org? I don't see it in
> the headers of e-mail I receive on the CLUG list, nor does it seem to
> be related to samba.org in other obvious ways:
> inetnum: -
> netname:         NETROUTING
> descr:           Netrouting Data Facilities
> country:         NL
> org:             ORG-NDF1-RIPE
> admin-c:         SBT10-RIPE
> tech-c:          SBT10-RIPE
> status:          ASSIGNED PI "status:" definitions
> mnt-by:          RIPE-NCC-HM-PI-MNT
> mnt-lower:       RIPE-NCC-HM-PI-MNT
> mnt-by:          NETROUTING-MNT
> mnt-routes:      NETROUTING-MNT
> mnt-domains:     NETROUTING-MNT
> source:          RIPE # Filtered
> At 15:03 [A]EDT, that same Barracuda page lists neither
> lists.samba.org or samba.org on its block list (domain reputation).
> cheers,
> Dale

I dont find the black lists, etc to be very reliable with the way they
add or remove IP addresses.
Quite often they have a entire subnet range, just because one server
or so, sent some spam that someone reported.

Version: GnuPG v1.4.9 (GNU/Linux)
Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org


More information about the linux mailing list