[cifs-protocol] show-recycled and show-deleted LDAP controls

Edgar Olougouna edgaro at microsoft.com
Thu Feb 24 16:12:59 MST 2011


Can you confirm whether the forest functional level is Windows Server 2008 R2 and that the recycle bin is enabled?	

Active Directory Recycle Bin Step-by-Step Guide
Step 1: Enable Active Directory Recycle Bin


-----Original Message-----
From: Matthieu Patou [mailto:mat at samba.org] 
Sent: Thursday, February 24, 2011 1:28 AM
To: Edgar Olougouna
Cc: pfif at tridgell.net; cifs-protocol at samba.org
Subject: Re: show-recycled and show-deleted LDAP controls

On 17/02/2011 09:30, Edgar Olougouna wrote:
> Matthieu,
> The LDAP_SERVER_SHOW_DELETED_OID (section control is used with an LDAP operation to specify that tombstones and deleted-objects are visible to the operation.
> The LDAP_SERVER_SHOW_RECYCLED_OID is used with an LDAP operation to specify that tombstones, deleted-objects, and recycled-objects are visible to the operation.
> When the LDAP_SERVER_SHOW_RECYCLED_OID (section control is used with an LDAP search operation, the search results include any tombstones, deleted-objects, or recycled-objects that match the search filter.
> The above controls specify respectively which subset of objects is visible to the search, the results will simply match the filter, in your trace Filter: (isDeleted=TRUE).
Ok but the initial question is why when we have LDAP_SERVER_SHOW_DELETED_OID I can see object that has been recycled (those with isRecycled=TRUE), from what you explained it should be shown only if I specify the LDAP_SERVER_SHOW_RECYCLED_OID no ?

> Also I wanted to double check that your forest functional level is Windows Server 2008 R2. This is required prior to enabling the Recycle Bin optional feature, which in turn is required for recycled objects functionality.
I have 2008 R2 server.
> MS-ADTS Recycle Bin Optional Feature The Recycle Bin 
> optional feature requires a Forest Functional Level of DS_BEHAVIOR_WIN2008R2 or greater.
> When the Recycle Bin optional feature is enabled, object deletion is performed in three stages.
> Stage 1. Active object transformed into a deleted object (isDeleted=TRUE).
> Stage 2. Deleted object transformed into a recycled object (after deleted-object lifetime, isRecycled=TRUE).
> Stage 3. Recycled object is garbage collected (after tombstone lifetime).

Matthieu Patou
Samba Team        http://samba.org
Private repo      http://git.samba.org/?p=mat/samba.git;a=summary

More information about the cifs-protocol mailing list